35 - 0366012
  • Artist: Allison, Bernard
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0366012
  • Release Date: 16.11.2007
  • Label: Jazzhaus Records
  • Genre: Blues
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Chills & Thrills


Jazzhaus Records is very pleased to announce the signing

of the well-known singer/guitarist Bernard Allison. His upcoming album

“Chills and Thrills” will be released on the 23rd of November 2007.

Being the son of the late legendary Chicago blues artist

Luther Allison, Bernard Allison has admirably followed his father’s

musical footsteps. Growing up Bernard learned to play the guitar at a very young

age by slowing down his dad’s LP´s and listening to every single note. Bernard

made his first appearance on record at the age of 13, when he played on a live

LP his father recorded in Peoria,IL.

Bernard Allison continued to develop his own creative

brand of blues music that remains blessed by the purists. Now he offers

something just a bit more his own style that is introduced as “the next

generation of the blues”.

„I didn´t start to play ´til I was maybe 10 years of age“

Bernard recalled „ I picked up the guitar, listened to records. I was in

grade school and I played with the high school jazz band. They thought I was

reading the sheet music, but actually I was making up everything I could play“.

Soon after graduating from High School, he began a three-year

guitar apprenticeship in Koko Taylor´s high-flying Blues Machine. He also played

in the late Willie Dixon´s Blues All-Stars and performed with his Dad at the

1983 Blues Festival - one of the event´s highlights. Along the way, Bernard

picked up the slide guitar tips from Johnny Winter and in the 80´s also learned

from the late Stevie Ray Vaughan.

With those experiences under his belt, Bernard moved to Paris

in 1989 to live and play the blues with his father. He joined the tourband of

Luther Allison after a furious collaboration of „Father & Son“ at the ´89

Chicago Blues Festival. A recording of this formation is to be heard on the

Luther Allison album „Let´s Try It Again“. Bernard released his first solo album

in 1990 with the significant title „The Next Generation“.

He started touring with his band all over Europe and released

the 2nd and 3rd albums: „Hang On“ (1992) and „No Mercy“ (1994).

On Bernard´s 4th release „Funkinfo“ it turned out that he was

not only influenced by „the old masters“ or musicians like Jimmy Hendrix and

Stevie Ray Vaughn but also grew up with the music of George Clinton and Johnny

Guitar Watson. Produced and recorded in Switzerland by Dom Torsch at Relief

Studios, this CD contains 12 songs (10 by his own) in a very high recording

quality with slide guitar Queen Joanna Connor appearing on „If“ and „The Allison

Family“ with backing vocals (choir) on „Family Affair“. „Funkinfo“ shows „the

funky side“ of the bluesman Bernard Allison and that he grew up with all kinds

of black music. He is playing the blues - but he always plays it funky....

Bernard´s 5th album „Born With The Blues“ was a solid,

stirring and straight-ahead blues affair with fine support from keyboard wizard

Ron Levy and the killer band of Buddy Guy. That album and subsequent European

and USA touring won Bernard much praise from the critics and a lot of new new


Bernard´s release „Times Are Changing“, demonstrates

continued growth as a songwriter, as well as an increased depth and diversity in

his repertoire. „Times are changing“ is extremely dynamic compared to the

bluesy, foot stompin´ opener, „ I Can´t Get You Out Of My Mind“, to the funked

up and jazzy cover of Sly Stone´s classic „If you want me to stay“, to the

poignant acoustic memorial to the passing of his father, „Don´t Be Confused“.

Appearing twice on the album, „Don´t Be Confused“, lends the

album a reflective pause before launching into overdrive and closes the circle

in it´s reprise. Track to track, Bernard changes gears with seasoned agility,

yet, despite the varied musical terrain, this is undeniably the blues. He covers

each style in easy, powerful strides. Backed by a drivin´ rhythm section, a rich

Hammond B3 and equally powerful horns, his guitar soars and growls while his

vocals are sharp and evocative. Throughout, Bernard´s nimble picking, memorable

riffs and catchy tunes display both his natural gift as a musician and the

influence of a life spent around his legendary father, Luther, and the blues.

Bernard seems to have inherited Luther´s knack for igniting

audiences, but he´s no clone of his famous father. He is definitely blazing his

own path with a style that reflects a unique mix of traditional and modern

influences. The Allison torch has been passed, and it´s clear that Bernard takes

his role as its bearer very seriously. He´s assumed the challenge of keeping the

blues alive and growing - a commitment he renews every time he takes the stage.

In 1999, two years after Luther passed away, Bernard decided

to move back to the States, return to his roots and to push his career in his

native country. He changed his record company from Ruf to Tone-Cool and is back

with „Across The Water“, a powerhouse blues rock records, with a strong,

radio-friendly sound, brimming with Bernard´s trademark searing lead and slide

guitar work, while showcasing his powerful vocal prowess and mature songwriting.

Produced by Jim Gaines (Stevie Ray Vaughan, Santana, Luther Allison, Albert

Collins). Aggressive touring and world-class management have Bernard poised for

crossover success.

  • Chills & Thrills
  • Boogie Man
  • So Devine
  • When I'm Gone
  • Missing Tyrone
  • Just My Guitar And Me
  • Compromising For Your needs
  • Black&White
  • Serious
  • Heart Of Saint Paul
  • That's Why I'm Crying
  • Groove With Me
  • Serious (After Hours)