Mainstream Jazz
35 - 03722042
  • Artist: Botschinsky, Allan Quintet
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 03722042
  • Release Date: 24.06.2022
  • Label: Stunt Records
  • Genre: Mainstream Jazz
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Live At The Tivoli Gardens 1996


Danish trumpeter Allan Botschinsky’s legacy as one of the greatest Scandinavian musicians of all time is now the stuff of legend, with glimpses of his creative and virtuosic voice remaining in recordings. Stunt Records unearthed some particularly unique and inspiring material from a 1996 concert at Jazzhus Slukefter with Allan Botschinsky's quartet - which, in addition to the leader (1940-2020), consisted of tenor saxophonist Bent Jædig (1935-2004), another iconic legend who is anything but overrepresented on recordings; a young, budding Jacob Fischer on guitar; bassist Jesper Lundgaard; and drummer Alex Riel. It would be challenging to put together a stronger ensemble in Denmark or even Europe at that time, and this group plays up to their reputations as stars - some of whom were already established, and others who were gaining momentum exponentially. All of the musicians in the band are recipients of the prestigious Ben Webster Prize, an award given annually to the best Danish jazz musicians - or foreign colleagues who have eventually called Denmark home.

The recording is another kind of historical document, as well - bringing back fond memories of the now long-gone and aptly named venue Slukefter, located in Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens, the setting for performances by both local and international artists, but also a place where regular folks would frequent after a day of work in the office or on the land to unwind and “switch off.” The very mixed audience of listeners and social drinkers was sometimes divided on their appreciation (or lack thereof) for the music and performing musicians. Fortunately - both for the members of the Allan Botschinsky quintet on the summer evening in question during the Copenhagen Jazz Festival of 1996, and listeners of the recently excavated recording today - there was rarely a negative response from the audience as everyone seemed to enjoy where five of the Danish jazz scene's finest musicians had met.

  • Four
  • A Song For Anna Sophia
  • It's You Or No One
  • I Thought About You
  • What's New
  • Donna Lee
  • What Is This Thing Called Love
  • All Of You
  • Rhythm-a-ning
  • It Might As Well Be Spring
  • I'll Remember April