Mainstream Jazz
35 - 0584209
  • Artist: Cholet, Jean-Christophe & Michel, Matthieu
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0584209
  • Release Date: 18.04.2019
  • Label: Neuklang
  • Genre: Mainstream Jazz
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Extended Whispers


After an album with Didier Ithursarry (accordion) and Ramon Lopez (drums) as guest musicians, the presence of the Swiss double bass player, Heiri Känzig, enriches the duo of Cholet & Michel and his two partners for his new program, EXTENDED WHISPERS.

In search of simplicity, completion and a gateway to intimate melodies, the original whispers of the duo take on completely new dimensions in this new recording. Just like the last album, the line-up varies between a duo, trio, quartet and quintet. Each musician takes on an important role of their own and presents his own compositions. We are able to recognise the colours of their travels through the world; their deepest emotions.

Matthieu Michel (trumpet, flugelhorn)

... is one of the most sought-after musicians in Europe. With a distinctive voice and an extraordinary feel for melodies, Matthieu Michel has the ability to immerse his listeners in a unique and enchanting musical universe. Having been a member of Mathias Rüegg's renowned Vienna Art Orchestra for 15 years, Michel has produced in around 40 countries and featured on more than 300 albums (ECM, Blue Note, Universal, ACT...).

Jean-Christophe Cholet (piano)

... appears to be one of the most unique French figures when it comes to improvised music. Despite being trained classically, his works are rich and diverse - with one constant: the ability to continuously cross between artistic and cultural boundaries. He combines contemporary harmonies with traditional songs, or a jazz trio with a classical choir, or simply instruments that would not usually be heard played together. His discography includes more than 20 albums, most of them with him as the band leader.


Jean-Christophe Cholet – piano

Matthieu Michel – trumpet, flugelhorn


Didier Ithursarry – accordion

Ramon Lopez – drums

Heiri Känzig - bass

  • Tara
  • Mondstein
  • Feu Follet
  • La Maison des étoiles
  • Tonal
  • Small Song
  • Yeong Gam
  • Politics
  • Relax and Easy
  • Momo
  • Lua
  • Tamia
  • Choral 2