Modern Jazz
35 - 0584264
  • Artist: Focusyear Band
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0584264
  • Release Date: 24.06.2022
  • Label: Neuklang
  • Genre: Modern Jazz
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Tiny Windows


The FOCUSYEAR BAND 22, of Jazzcampus Basel, Switzerland, once again demonstrates its international flair. For the first time there are two pianists in the band, Julia Perminova from Russia and Yvonne Rogers from the USA. Brazilian bassist Thiago Alves and Canadian drummer Aaron Dolman complete the rhythm section. The horn section consists of alto saxophonists Alden Hellmuth from the USA and Roberto Nieva from Spain, trumpeter Dima Bondarev from Ukraine, and flutist/trombonist Fernando Brox from Spain.

Every year, the FOCUSYEAR BAND is reassembled. The members are selected from a large number of applicants from all over the world by a top-class jury of international musicians. This year‘s unusual line-up, with two very different pianists and two very different

alto saxophonists, offers exciting and unique sonic possibilities. Each musician in the ensemble has their own individual, promising, soloistic sound and expression, which contributes to the overall musical texture.

Over the course of the year, the ensemble develops a new full-length program every other week in collaboration with renowned jazz masters. As a result of the work done during these intensive weeks, the eight up-and-coming musicians are now presenting their own compositions, which will be featured on an al- bum released this spring.

  • Angie
  • No hombre no
  • On Elm Street
  • Tiny Windows
  • Spontaneous Journey
  • Indignação
  • Don't Do it Just Because