Modern Jazz
35 - 0584260
  • Artist: Ghomari, Quentin
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0584260
  • Release Date: 24.06.2022
  • Label: Neuklang
  • Genre: Modern Jazz
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:



An atypical trio, trumpet-bass-drums, led by the excellent Quentin Ghomari, who crossed paths with Papanosh, Ping Machine, Big Four or the Orchestre National de Jazz (National Jazz Orchester).

Ôtrium was born above all out of the need felt by trumpeter Quentin Ghomari to go further in the singular expression of his music, after a career littered with compositions in bands and sideman performances. In 2020, he took advantage of this step aside imposed by the context to advance in his creation and his reflection: a contraction of trio and otium (Latin concept of creative idleness), Ôtrium is a tight formation, appropriate to this search for authenticity. The repertoire on the record was written during a period of suspended time, inclined to let the mind wander, wander, spin, fly away, ruminate.

The music of Ôtrium, sometimes wild and obstinate, sometimes meditative and dreamlike, stems from these movements. It is situated on the borderline between sleep and wakefulness, with its feet rooted in the ground and its head turned towards the sky.

It is thanks to the listening skills and inventiveness of Yoni Zelnik (double bass) and Antoine Paganotti (drums) that the sound of this trio comes to life: acoustic, raw and direct, made of pure melodic lines that resonate with each other and play with silence

  • Knock Knock
  • Kenny & Jim
  • Scratched Disk
  • Ôtrium
  • Last Minute Call
  • Joe l'invisible
  • Charms of Miles's Skies
  • Babillages
  • Striptyque