Modern Jazz
35 - 0584189
  • Artist: Initiative H
  • Format: CD
  • Order No.: 0584189
  • Release Date: 18.05.2018
  • Label: Neuklang
  • Genre: Modern Jazz
  • Hier geht`s zur Produktseite:

Broken Land


After two critically acclaimed albums, DEUS EX MACHINA and DARK WAVE, the French Bigband Initiative H is releasing a third opus; BROKEN LAND, modeled on Grieg's "Peer Gynt Suite" or Moussorgsky's "Pictures of an Exhibition".

The origin of this album is tied to a climatological study. In this, it is assumed that we have reached the "climatic point of no return" since 3rd August 2017.

BROKEN LAND embodies the sound and visual soundtrack of this dark assessment; a sombre and imposing, but also fragile and intimate piece of music that allows the listener to glide into an imaginary road movie.

Far from fatalism, this album also creates a consciousness that conveys hope; to fight and not give up. BROKEN LAND provides a new impetus - strong, sensitive and bright all at the same time.

Founded in 2012 by David Haudrechy, Initiative H took the ambitious challenge to create a dense, modern and passionate music transcending the genres jazz, rock, electro and 20th century music. The powerful sound of this 21st century orchestra is fed by the energy of a big collective project where each musician has its certain place. The interpretation is masterly, the engagement absolute and the listener will be completely absorbed by the telling power of this music. A musical adventure, human, urban, which makes Initiative H an unavoidable entity of the renovation of the French jazz scene.

Considering his passion for surfing, snowboarding and skating, the genre crossover in saxophonist David Haudrechyʼs music is more than understandable. The thrill, the shiver, the risk, all sensations are also part of the iconic picture of „Dark Wave“, under the direction and composition of David Haudrechy. He developed his own, liberate, musical language as much inspired by Berlioz and Moussorgski as by Gill Evans, Carla Bley, but also King Crimson and Arvo Pärt. Unexpected and paradox like in a slalom is the musical process between the different projects surrounding the band.


David Haudrechy - soprano saxophone, composer, direction, voice, additional sound

Ferdinand Doumerc - alto saxophone, flute

Gaël Pautric - baritone saxophone, bass clarinet

Nicolas Gardel - trumpet

Cyril Latour - trumpet

Olivier Sabatier - trombone, additional sound

Lionel Segui - bass trombone

Amaury Faye - piano, rhodes

Olivier Cussac - synthesizer

Florent Hortal – guitar

Pascal Celma - electric bass

Pierre Pollet - drums

Florent « Pepino » Tisseyre - percussions

feat. La Lauzeta - vocals (tracks 1 & 9)

  • Broken Land
  • Signes
  • The Point of no Return
  • Just Dust
  • Far West
  • Fun Kills
  • Failure
  • Trouble
  • Polaroid